ONOTA TOWNSHIP PLANNING COMMISSION

MINUTES OF REGULAR MEETING MARCH, 12, 2024

I. CALL TO ORDER

The regular meeting of the Planning Commission was called to order at 7:03pm

II. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Present: Brian Mahoney, Fred Ivers, Brian Bresette, Michael Tarr, Erin Putvin

Absent: Vicki Ray, Mark Fisher

III. ADOPTION OF AGENDA

Agenda was unable to be printed due to printer error, motion tabled.

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

The minutes were unable to be printed due to printer error, motion tabled.

V. REPORTS

A. Zoning Administrator

Absent, reports attached

B. Township Board Representative: Brian Bresette

- Board of Review meets March 13/14, 2024
- The temporary Clerk and Deputy Clerk/Fire Chief resigned.
- Lisa Hansen will step in as clerk
- Mark Fisher was appointed as new Planning Commission member

VI. CORRESPONDENCE

- Correspondence was received from Mark Fisher, requesting appointment to the Planning Commission
- Correspondence was received from Ryan Soucy from CUPPAD concerning a \$50,000 housing readiness grant being offered by MSHDA

VII. PUBLIC COMMENT

Comment was received from: Jamee asked if 9925 Lake Superior Point Trail corporation pays taxes.

VIII. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

A. CUPPAD: Dotty LaJoye returned to review the Master Plan. In reviewing the latter section of Chapter Six, she discussed the sweeping legislation on renewable energies. She drew attention to the fact that Alger Delta, due to its cooperative design, does not offer net metering. Dotty also pointed out the limited

- options available for heating in Onota township. Only propane, electric, and wood are viable sources in this area. Propane could be affected by transportation issues.
- B. Chapter Seven, Natural Features was reviewed. Dotty pointed out that Onota township's unique natural features have proven to be a natural barrier for development.
- C. A "Decommissioning Plan" will be added. This plan will be revisited every three years.

IX. NEW BUSINESS

- A. Commission Election
 - A motion was made by Brian Bresette to nominate Brian Mahoney as
 Commission Chair. Michael Tarr supported the nomination. Motion carried
 5-0
 - A motion was made by Brian Mahoney to nominate Michael Tarr as
 Co-Chair. Brian Bresette supported the nomination. Motion carried 5-0
 - A motion was made by Michael Tarr to nominate Erin Putvin as Secretary. BrainBresette supported the nomination. Motion carried 5-0

X. ADJOURNMENT

A motion was made to adjourn the meeting at 7:52 pm

Motion: Michael Tarr Support: Fred Ivers: Motion carried: 5-0

Respectfully Submitted, Erin Putvin Planning Commission Secretary